Gun safety is a personal responsibility, not a government one. No matter what the legal requirements in your state happen to be, you have a personal responsibility to learn to handle that firearm safely. Guns are not safe, and they are not toys. You should not be putting yourself and those around you at risk by carrying a firearm you have no idea how to use or handle safely.
If, god forbid, you should make a mistake and hurt yourself or someone else, it will not be the fault of your state's firearms laws. It will be your fault, because you behaved in a childish and irresponsible manner around a dangerous tool. Not the fault of America's millions of responsible gun owners; not the fault of your state's gun laws; not the fault of a coffee shop's policy to follow state laws and stay out of a political issue; your fault. And you will be legally responsible for the consequences of your ignorance.
You've published your article and made your point, asinine as that point may be. Another time I'd be happy to discuss the merits of the issue with you. Responsible gun owners take gun safety very seriously. However, making your point was clearly more important to you than behaving in a safe and responsible manner. That makes you part of the problem, not part of the solution. Go take a gun safety class. Not because you have to, but because it's the right thing to do.
See that bit at the top about how the comment is awaiting moderation? It's not dated, but several comments after mine have been approved.
Yeah, reasoned discourse is in full effect.
Other gunbloggers have noted the same thing, but Bryan Preston did some research and tried to figure out what state the author lives in by analyzing the requirements she described in her article. He concludes that her story doesn't match the firearms laws of any state. The most likely candidate is Washington State, but that state has a 5-day waiting period for firearms purchases -- with an exemption for concealed-carry permit holders. The background check for obtaining the permit can legally take up to 30 days, and in practice takes up to 2 months, unless you happen to know which county to apply in and show up really early.
The other possibility is Idaho, but that state requires a gun safety course for concealed carry licensees.
This entry was published Tue Jun 18 12:41:39 CDT 2013 by TriggerFinger
and last updated 2013-06-18 12:41:39.0.